Leave Me Alone, I’m Reading

There’s a certain kind of book I’d like to write that regular readers to this site know all about by now; one that explores fantastic works of fiction for the truths they offer readers and for the ways in which they relate to life as it is lived. I’m always keeping my eyes open for books that already do this kind of thing and they are few and far between. There’s lots of critical works available on literature, and lots of books about reading, but not many try and do something really accessible but also interesting with the ideas that fill the pages of much loved novels. So imagine the curiosity I felt on learning about Maureen Corrigan’s book, Leave Me Alone, I’m Reading which is all about relating reading to living life. Corrigan is a book reviewer on NPR and a university teacher too and has a lovely, easy writing style that combines the very best of thoughtful, considerate reviewing with the helpful analytic skills of the good lecturer. Knowing that this was exactly the kind of book I’d like to write made me read it with far more of a critical eye than usual but you know what? I loved it from one end to the other. Corrigan does a wonderful job of showing us how much interest, fun and insight there is to be had from taking reading to the next level.

Corrigan’s approach is fundamentally autobiographical. An avid reader who has always made a living from reading, she looks back over some of the key moments in her life and understands how books have been involved in them, either by encouraging her to take chances, by distracting her from emotional turmoil, or by shaping her moral universe. There’s a wonderful section on what Corrigan calls the ‘female extreme-adventure tale’, arguing that women have as many adventures as the male counterparts in literature, only the landscape they must travel is different. Endurance, stoicism, perseverance are the qualities that women must bring to the fore to withstand the toughest trials of life, and Corrigan turns to novels like Jane Eyre, Villette, Toni Morrison’s Beloved and Anna Quindlen’s Black and Blue for literary back up. Alongside her discussion of these classic stories, Corrigan tells her own extreme adventure; the adoption of her Chinese daughter. In many ways this was my favourite part of the book because she writes so movingly and so well about the trials, not just of finding a baby to adopt and making the complicated journey to fetch her, but of creating a very different kind of family unit. By the end of this lengthy first chapter I was completely won over by Corrigan’s voice: personal, intelligent, reflexive, genuine.

Subsequent chapters deal with working for a living (including a very entertaining section on the perils and general ghastliness of grad school – I hear this so much in American literature; is it really so terrible?), getting married, remember her father’s efforts in the war and finally, a long and intriguing chapter about being brought up in the close and highly particular Catholic community. What comes up a lot in Corrigan’s personal life is her somewhat troubled sense of moving away from her roots. Like the good girl she clearly is, Corrigan doesn’t want to upset anyone by being too different, but her life choices have inevitably made her unreadable to her mother (primarily) and to her religious upbringing. There’s an interesting comment she makes in the introduction about her fondness for the semicolon:

‘The semicolon is my psychological metaphor, my mascot. It’s the punctuation mark that qualifies, hesitates, and ties together ideas and parts of a life that shoot off in different directions. I think my reliance on the semicolon signifies that I want to hold onto my background – honestly, without sentimentality or embarrassment – and yet, also transcend it. I come from, and still partly reside in, a world where most people, including my own parents, didn’t, and still don’t, read or hear what I have to say about books because they are oblivious to NPR, The New York Times, and all the other educated middle- and upper-class outlets where popular conversations about culture and literature take place.’

Having a Jewish husband and a Chinese daughter doesn’t exactly help Corrigan to fit in when she goes back home either, although as is so often the case, these differences provoke curiosity and wonderment, but not estrangement. And so it’s interesting how often Corrigan returns to her theme of rehabilitated concern for her own differences. It’s not that she worries any more, she tells us, just that she could worry, perhaps she did worry, maybe those worries sneak in anyway and renewed contact with family and old friends put them to rest once more. I found it particularly intriguing that this managed anxiety surfaced most obviously in the chapter on her Catholic upbringing, where the message she got taught was never to complain, to remain stoic at all times, to submit to faith, to struggle on regardless. It made for very interesting reading to watch Corrigan making the best of what she clearly experiences as tension between the expectations placed on her by her background and the life she has carved out for herself. Sometimes, I have to confess, I longed for her to break out of the straitjacket of resolute cheeriness and lay her anxieties out for the reader, but I gather from her that this isn’t the American (Catholic) way. All this made me have ever more respect for Corrigan as a lovely person, but I wondered how much storytelling relies upon the exploration of suffering, even if uncertainty and pain is ultimately overcome. I preferred the way she discussed the adoption of her daughter, where she felt her anxieties were more permissible, more acceptable and therefore more able to be aired.

But none of this detracts in any way from the sheer pleasurable readability of this book. I felt more involved in the stories Corrigan was telling, keener to keep reading than I have with conventional fiction on occasions. She manages the transition between life and literature brilliantly, never overstating her case, and I appreciated the way she chose both classic and genre fiction to discuss (a lot of her academic work is with hard-boiled crime fiction). There’s a wonderful, warm inclusiveness to Corrigan’s book that welcomes in every kind of book, every kind of reader and recognizes the power that brings them all together. She certainly shows us how many possibilities there are for fascinating books that explore the simple love of reading, and contributes one of immense charm and intelligence.

19 thoughts on “Leave Me Alone, I’m Reading

  1. I really enjoyed reading your thoughts on this book. I was so excited when this book came out, I mean, that title is great isn’t it? But for some reason I found it very hard to get into. I didn’t read but maybe 20 pages of it. I still have it and will probably go back to it one day. You definitely made me want to reconsider it 🙂

  2. I’m really interested that you liked this book. I too have this book on my shelf (how can any book-lover resist that wonderful title, really) but I couldn’t get into it either. And it seems to have gotten lukewarm reviews from people who have read it (if they liked it at all). I think it may have something to do with high expectations and all that. For me, the unexpected feminist slant kind of threw me off. I don’t have a problem with it, it just wasn’t what I was expecting so I put it down promising to come back to it later. Maybe I should give it another chance.

  3. Iliana – that’s so interesting – can you put your finger on what put you off at all? I found it hooked me once Corrigan started telling the story of adopting her daughter. If you felt like giving it another go, try a different chapter, as they can all be read independently. J.S. Your comment is so very interesting for me – I must go and look out the reviews of this book that exist online to find out what people didn’t like. I’d say the same thing to you as to Iliana – try a different chapter, or read the story of her daughter. I can see how that first chunk of women’s stories might be an obstacle to getting into the book.

  4. I hear Corrigan on NPR, and remember hearing about this book, too. But I had forgotten it until now, so thank you for reminding me! It sounds great, think I’ll go out and get a copy 🙂

  5. That paragraph about the semi-colon (my favorite punctution!) made me swoon. I’m going go add this to my wishlist right now.

    I think the grad school experience depends on a few things, maybe mostly how competitive your department is. I loved grad school — finally, all my classes focused on literature and writing! But I had friends who were miserable, mostly because they were teaching assistants who hated teaching.

  6. I also loved the paragraph about the semi-colon, that it “qualifies, hesitates and ties together”. It brought to mind what Kurt Vonnegut said about semicolons: “They are transvestite hermaphrodites representing absolutely nothing. All they do is show that you’ve been to college.” He obviously did not feel as torn between his background and his chosen life as Corrigan does. While I find the Vonnegut quote funny, I am more for nuance, hesitation, qualification in my thinking and writing.

  7. Gentle reader – I would love to know what you think of it! Your reviews are always so thoughtful, I’d imagine it would suit you well. Dewey – what is it about semi-colons? I agree! I’m delighted to hear of a positive grad school experience. I think your causality is quite right, because Corrigan was at Penn which does sound highly competitive. Charlotte – love that Vonnegut quote, even though I’m with you; the semi-colon is actually very useful indeed!

  8. Grad school wasn’t so bad for me, but I’m not sure my experience was representative. I think my department was pretty easy to deal with. I hear Corrigan on NPR, and I love listening to her segments. I think I’d enjoy this book.

  9. I got such a good sense of what this book was about, or at least it was like for you litlove, that I shall have to acquire it for myself. I sort of abandoned my quest for that perfect “reading” book, at least temporarily.

  10. I found grad school to be lots of fun and not difficult at all, but maybe library science is different from other disciplines? This book sounds really good.

  11. Dorothy – now you are someone I would have thought would enjoy this. I’ve been surprised searching for other reviews how many people consider it to be ‘academic’. It makes me feel like saying, “I’ll show you what academic is!” I thought it very accessible and would be interested to know what you think. Imani – and again, I’d have said you would appreciate this. It doesn’t tell you how to read, just presents various readings. I’d love to know what you thought of it. Emily – it’s nice to hear so many positive recommendations of grad school! I think you would enjoy this book. I’m very tempted to dig out my Armisted Maupin after reading your recent posts!

  12. I’m off to search npr.org for interviews/speeches by Corrigan. The paragraph about the semi-colon reminds me of Lynne Truss’s hilarious Eats, Shoots and Leaves. And I’m ROFL at Charlotte’s Vonnegut quote 🙂 . That man was just irrepressible.

    On a related note, you might be interested in what Danielle @ A Work in Progress wrote about Anna Quindlen’s “How Reading Changed My Life” a few months ago.

  13. About exploring how works of fiction help us understand life as it is lived, have you read Nabokov’s “Lectures on Literature”? And there’s the pretty recent “Reading Lolita in Tehran” by Azar Nafisi (herself a literature professor), which explores how we can use fiction to help us “read” events in our own lives.

    “All this made me have ever more respect for Corrigan as a lovely person, but I wondered how much storytelling relies upon the exploration of suffering, even if uncertainty and pain is ultimately overcome.” – I think that storytelling does rely an awful lot on the exploration of suffering. Wasn’t it Montherlant who said that “happiness writes white”, it doesn’t show up on the page. How many authors have managed to write happiness well? Tolstoy, definitely. Perhaps Proust?

  14. This title is on my list… Dirda wins my heart when it comes to books like this one. For me, it has become a neurosis… thinking that reading books that deal with the habit of reading will cure me some way of thinking I am the only one who lives with his nose on a book 24/7 🙂 Sorry, I have been away… but I am back now. Look forward to reading more from you soon.

  15. Polaris – I’d love to hear her speak too. I should do an internet trawl. And I will gladly follow the link to Danielle – I always love her reviews. Yaeli – I’m ashamed to say I have never read any Nabokov although I have often meant to. The volume you mention sounds an excellent place to start. I also like the Montherlant quote (the one I know is ‘happiness has no history’). It’s an intriguing question as to who writes happiness well, and sitting here no one springs to mind (well apart from Molly Bloom’s yes and Proust). I shall have to think about that one! JCR – Now Dirda is someone I’d really like to read, and you need never fear that you are alone in wanting to read all the time!! It’s lovely to see you back, and I’m just delighted whenever you come to visit.

  16. A friend of mine gave me this book last year and I never got around to reading it (which is rather unlike me because I cherish book gifts) but you have both reminded me and inspired me to get at it. I love the paragraph about the semi-colon and what it says about how we can reconcile two identities.

  17. It’s really been so long since I tried it but I think I just didn’t feel like she was speaking to another bookworm. Maybe it’s to do with my own expectations. Does that make sense? Ah anyway, I will try it again though!

  18. I read this book some time ago and enjoyed it but ultimately found it disappointing. I think I wanted more books and less memoir. I love books about books and reading and can’t wait until you write yours!

  19. A friend gave this to me ages ago–I really need to pull it out and read it. Can you imagine being able to make a living from reading?!! I wish. Your description makes this sound very good!

Leave a comment