Two New Crime Writers

 

Lately I’ve been surrounded by (literary) death. John Irving’s Owen Meaney started it, with his poor mother felled by a random baseball strike, and then it just so happens that I’ve been simultaneously reading books by two crime writers I hadn’t tried before: Reginald Hill and Susan Hill (no relation, just more coincidence). What makes us choose one book from the TBR pile rather than another? It’s a mystery that defies science, but in this instance it resulted in two wildly contrasting reads, despite the fact that both are ostensibly police procedural novels.

 

Reginald Hill’s characters, the combative, no-nonsense, un-pc Yorkshireman, Andy Dalziel, and his much-maligned long-suffering side kick, Peter Pascoe, are well known to television viewers in the UK from the adaptations of Hill’s novels. Or at least in the beginning they were Hill’s novels, and pretty fantastic programmes they made, too. Nowadays the scripts no longer derive from the originals, but are created by the overheated brains of writers who think the butterfly attention span of viewers requires a preposterous body count and relentless plot twists. But I mustn’t bore you with my prejudices; what I really wanted to say was that the books are in any case even better than the best of the serialisations. The relationship between Dalziel and Pascoe is wonderfully drawn, with Dalziel hogging the best one-liners, and Pascoe receiving most of the detecting credits, but overall they produce a compelling portrait of teamwork. The novel I read was An Advancement of Learning, set in a university campus in the 1970s when the removal of a statue commemorating a former principle brings a skeleton to light. Universities never fail to produce satisfyingly eccentric characters amongst both the student and the teaching populations, and there’s no shortage here of suspects, dodgy dealings and hidden intrigues. It’s a cleverly constructed novel with a satisfyingly un-guessable conclusion, and I really like the way Hill writes. He has an economical style, conveying sharp-edged impressions in a few concise sentences with lots of snappy dialogue. I was delighted to note what a prolific writer Hill is, and I’ll certainly be reading more of his novels in the future.

 

Then I turned to Susan Hill’s novel expecting, I suppose, something similar, but although the novel I read, The Various Haunts of Men, had all the external trappings of a police procedural crime novel, it made an ambitious attempt to transform the usual formula. The first thing to say is that it is beautifully written; Hill was a much-admired novelist before she turned to crime fiction, and it shows in her lucid, exquisitely timed prose. The second impression I most forcefully received was the novel’s fascination – almost obsession – with human vulnerability. The majority of characters are all sick and suffering in some way, partly because the plot focuses on the power imbalance between the practitioners of medicine in both its orthodox and alternative forms, and those who desperately need its help. But even the police force are not immune to frailty, Hill’s detective Chief Inspector Simon Serrailler (the man who will carry the novels in this series, although he does not as it were, dominate this initial one) portrayed as a profound enigma with unknown depths of suffering in his past. And as for the focus of the novel, young policewoman Freya Graffham who is recovering from a damaging marriage and who falls hopelessly in love with her boss (and this is extremely well done, by the way), well, tragedy will strike her life in a wholly unexpected way. But the vulnerability of Hill’s tale does not begin and end with its characters. What felt so affecting to me was the way that Hill explores the traditional plot structure as being vulnerable. I have to be careful here because I don’t want to give the ending away, and it is one of the most shocking endings I’ve read. But whereas the orthodox crime novel is paradoxically an exercise in reinforcing our readerly security – solutions come at the end of the novel just as evil can be identified, confined and imprisoned – this book undermines all our expectations for an orderly and controllable world. I can imagine how some people might feel bitterly let down by the end, and I can imagine how others would find a brave and bold challenge to conventional fiction. As for me, to be honest, I don’t know what to think. But the book did affect me profoundly, and I felt as if a shadow had fallen over me when I was reading it, and it was one that proved quite tenacious.

 

So, two novels that could not have been more different, a case of contrasting black and white, of old school and new, of vigorous, active, quick-thinking coppers, and of new style realism. In Reginald Hill’s novel the quirks and oddities of his characters made them dispensable, and the force of detection forged ahead, confident in its ability to make sense of the crime. In Susan Hill’s novel the characters were profoundly recognisable and thus crime became more troubling, more evil, I suppose, and the police force seemed only able to limp along behind its glittering wake. I really wondered how other people felt about the sanctity of the formula in crime novels. Is it time to shake up the genre and make it different? Or are there some pleasures in reading that are tightly bound to the fulfilment of our expectations? What do you think? One thing’s for sure; I’m really intrigued by Susan Hill now and will check out her blog.

15 thoughts on “Two New Crime Writers

  1. The suffering hero – oh, yes please. You need to meet Joe Cashin. I finished ‘The Broken Shore’ by Peter Temple, paused for all of 2 minutes and started it again – that’s quite a shift from the gobble-til-the-denouement-then-hurl-at-the-bin McDonalds school of crime fiction. I’d picked it up in the bookshop, skim-read 2 paragraphs, went away for an hour and had to come back and buy it instead of lunch. I was horrified, ravished, lured by the humour (very, very Australian) and yup, the brutality (ditto). It was spare but lyrical. I wish I knew how he does that. And the BEST news is…he’s written seven previous novels. I’ve inadvertently started with dessert!

  2. I was disappointed by The Pure in Heart, the second Hill novel. Mainly the “hero” is just getting on my nerves. Still, I’d be willing to read the third one in the series. I think they have potential.

  3. I don’t know either of these writers, and I really like this genre, so I’m excited to see your review. As for your question about form, there’s certainly room for a departure from the expected arc of a mystery, as long as the person doing the departing is a fine writer, and doesn’t promise something they fail to deliver. There’s a difference between a disappointment and a shock. I’m good with the latter, don’t want to spend money on the former.

    But here’s my REAL question: when on earth did you have time to read two entire mysteries, along with all the other things you do, including research for your next book? Are you actually two people? Do you inhabit a world where time moves more slowly? Or is it the tea you’re drinking?

  4. And more to add to my TBR list. I, for one, LOVE it when people shake up genres, as long as, as Bloglily says, the person doing the shaking is a fine writer. I’d also love to see some brand new genres being created by fine writers.

  5. I love both these writers and I don’t think you’ll be sorry to have found them. I agree with iliana about ‘The Pure in Heart’, but ‘The Risk of Darkness’ is better and if you’ve been over to Susan Hill’s blog, you’ll know that the fourth one is well on its way. What I really enjoy about these particular books is the way in which she explores the effects of the crime on the community that she is carefully building up.
    I think Reginald Hill gets better as he goes along. In some of his later novels he is deliberately playing with styles of other writers and while eventually this gets rather too clever and a bit self-defeating, in some it works very well. My own favourite is ‘Pictures of Perfection’ which begins ‘It is a truth almost universally accepted……’

  6. Fugitive – there’s another author I don’t know but I can see I will have to check out. Isn’t is wonderful when you find a substantial back catalogue? Certainly cheers my heart. Iliana, I did hear that the second novel had another unusual ending, and I’m interested in what you say about the DCI. Can’t decide at this point whether I’ll read it or not. Dear Bloglily, you did make me laugh! Let’s put it this way: I’m not on top of the housework… and Emily (and BL, too) I agree that you have to be a confident and courageous writer to try something startling, but it is exciting when it comes off well. Ann – thank you so much for the recommendation – I’m off to see if I can get hold of ‘Pictures of Perfection’ right now.

  7. Hey Litove,

    I don’t normally read crime ficton (I hear you say remove the crime and your about right!). if I did though it would be Susan’s. She is a frequent commenter on Richard Charkin’s blog and runs a small publishing house herself, Long Barn Books. Overall she has lots to be impressed by! Published and Publisher!
    Eoin

  8. Ah yet another fine choice – I read ‘An advancement of learning’ ages ago on holiday in France. The description of ‘arm stroking and looking at views’ still stays with me. My dad is a huge Reginald Hill fan and the new one was bought as holiday read every year religiously. The description of ‘arm stroking’ and going on rambles of certain members of staff still cracks me up. Anyway if it is books about death you’re after you should read the one called ‘Snuff’ (I think) – absolute gripper, it got me through having fillings at the dentist when I was 16 or so! And I absolutely agree they ruined the TV series after the first couple…. SO many great books, so why make up lame sub-Taggart plotlines to fill the time? *sigh*

    I shall have a look at Susan Hill too. And about to start the new Benacquista – when do we get a blog about the mighty Tonino? Pleeeeease?

  9. Eoin – that’s right, Susan Hill does talk on her blog about being a publisher. I can’t think of any other writer who knows both sides of the coin! And frances – Ah… Tonino Benacquista. What a star. I’ve just checked on amazon.com and he had in fact been translated, so I may well just follow you up on that one…

  10. Just following up on Bloglily’s statement…really, you are three people in one, yes? Or drinking tea laced with heavy doses of amphetamines?

    You haven’t led me wrong yet with reading, and I have a specific litlove reading list I try and tackle here and there. And even when I’m not familiar with the authors/work you recommend, like above, I find myself falling into your reviews and saying, well, I must read these next!

    Thank you for continuously sharing your reading experiences with us. And perhaps it is completely American, the appreciation many of us have for the narrator’s mother’s untimely death via baseball?
    Courtney

  11. I feel rather honoured to think you have a list just of my recommendations, Courtney! And no, it isn’t an American thing, I’m thinking that the John Irving is a wonderful book. But to prove I’m only human, I haven’t finished it yet -ah if only I were three people at once! Then I could post about it right now…

  12. Hi everythinginbetween,

    I took tea chez litlove on several occasions – and she does indeed possess a very fine, large china teapot, for brewing the copious amounts of Earl Grey needed to reasure anxious undergraduates faced with Sartre. Perhaps it is put to more nefarious uses when she’s reading thrillers – enquiring minds need to know!

    Frances x

  13. Hi Litlove–For some weird reason I can read more than one fiction book, but I rarely read more than one mystery at a time. Hmm. Perhaps I need to grab another mystery and add to my pile! 🙂 I am with Bloglily–I am all for departure from the unexpected. While I like the usual story, I also like something new and fresh that surprises me! I have read one Reginald Hill (which I remember enjoying), but I have only read Susan’s The Woman in Black. Quite often I look at her mysteries, but I never can decide. Now I must try one!

  14. Dear Frances – you do make me laugh. Now of course I wish I had thought of it – what stimulating supervisions we would have had with some extra stimulants….! But, no, my teapot is a temple of purity, and the entertainment we had was often down to you. Danielle, thinking about it, I don’t think I could read more than one mystery at a time (these two came one after the other). I think I’d get the list of suspects mixed up if I read too many at once!

  15. I have just discovered, rather late in life, the Lord Peter Wimsey books by Dorothy L Sayers. I love detective stories set in the so called Golden Age of crime, such as those written by Ngaio Marsh, Margery Allinghem et al. However, I agree with your comments about Reginald HIll and discovered the Serrailer/Susan Hill books recently and read the three of them through in one weekend. There was no neat and tidy end to them, as you would find in the aforementioned author’s crime novels, but feel that this is probably how police work is anyway. Life is messy and not tied up and filed away.

Leave a comment