A Year In Blogging

Or nine months, to be more precise, as I began this blog on the 2nd April, without the slightest idea of how important it would become to me. 226 posts, 2,065 comments and over 10,000 spam later, I can only marvel at the way the noble art of blogging has taken over my life. This is my inevitably insufficent attempt to make some sense of the experience.

I’d longed for a blog for over a year, but had never known how to get one, and it wasn’t until my husband saw a recommendation for wordpress in a computer magazine that I got started. The blog arrived in my life at a propitious moment; I’d been off work for six months with exhaustion and was beginning to pull my mind out of its slough of inactivity. I needed distraction, but as anyone who has suffered a long-term illness knows, distraction that can take you out of yourself without being itself exhausting is pretty hard to come by. The blog was perfect, because I could write as much or as little as I chose, I could do it when I wanted to, and I could express myself under the cover of a perfect anonymity. I didn’t tell anyone about it at first because I had no idea what I would want to write. I thought it quite possible that I should produce maundering passages of self-pity that dwelt on my illness and the muddled, labyrinthine processes that had caused it; I might have wanted to curse the university and my evil stars, but it turned out that all I really wanted to do was write about books. Now I look back to those early entries, and I do notice that their main difference is that they are much shorter than the ones I write today; not surprising at all, given that I really am hopelessly verbose once I get going.

However, I was entirely ignorant of the blogworld, and had no clue about netiquette. To begin with it was very hard to find any book blogs at all – there are certainly very few based in the UK. I spent hours traversing a sea of techno-geekery with barely a life buoy of aesthetics in sight. Then, when I began to come across a few here and there, I didn’t understand how one got to know the blogger in question. I once called the blogworld an immense party, and if there’s something I’m congenitally bad at, it’s introducing myself to strangers at a party. I left comments, but never seemed to get reciprocal visits (and probably didn’t know enough to return to the comment forum to see if the blogger had replied there), and to this day I feel uncertain about my welcome at a site where a comment I’ve left hasn’t produced an answering (and visiting) response. But I was starting to know people, and in those early days, the delightful Nils was my first real blogbuddy, showing to me how intoxicating those conversations with other bloggers could be, and helping me out technically in the process.

It was late spring before I found my way to the heart of the book bloggers, via Dorothy and Stefanie, both wonderfully generous reciprocators, as anyone who visits them knows. Then everything seemed to take off at once. I wonder if there is anything as exciting to a blogger as those days when your audience suddenly expands and the thrill of real conversations start to take place in the aftermath of a post. For me, blogging would be nowhere near as interesting and engaging without those discussions. I felt that I had entered a period of intense infatuation with my blog; I nurtured it and cared for it and devoted the very best of my time and attention to it. The day passed in a series of illuminated stepping stones, between deciding what to post, writing the post, and responding to blogger’s comments. My mother-in-law once intimated to me that I would be a terrible person to have in a book group; I can’t say for sure what she meant by this, but I think she was suggesting that I would either intimidate people, being an academic, or bore them, for the same reason. What I loved about blogging was that I could have these great discussions with other people about books that didn’t descend into academic nitpicking (I have enough of that at work) and yet were informed and insightful and packed with vitality. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again; literature and the enjoyment it can offer people has been sectioned off into a ghetto for too long, and branded uselessly as elitist. If there’s any place where reconnecting with the simple and egalitarian pleasures of reading is possible, it’s here in the blogworld.

Indeed, the greatest surprise about blogging has been the extent to which it has reinvigorated my own reading. I’d bought fiction for a while in a major bookstore, I’d worked in a book printers, I’d spent the rest of my adult life studying European literature and I rather thought I knew what was out there to read. In fact barely a day passes without a blogger (probably Danielle) coming up with another tempting literary morsel that I’ve never heard of before. The reading challenges are also a brilliant way to make you actually fetch the books off the shelves that you’ve been intending to read for ages but never quite getting to. Be prepared, innocent reader who enters the blogosphere: it’s an Aladdin’s cave of publishing gems that you’ll not escape from with your bank balance intact.

Over the autumn that early passion I’d felt for the blog matured out into something a little less panicky and a little more steadfast; I felt able to take a break from posting every now and then, and even posted every other day when I was at a tricky point in my research. I soon discovered that wasn’t my natural rhythm, and that’s another thing blogs are subtly excellent at doing: they teach you all kinds of things you never realised about the way you write. Reading other people’s posts and watching their development, struggling through the mire of self-expression yourself, having the space and the courage to try new approaches and to attempt that difficult mix of the personal and the general makes blogging an extraordinary exercise in self-controlled pedagogy. By the end of this year I was contemplating something I had longed to do for many years but never known how to begin, and that’s write a non-academic book. I would never have reached this point had it not been for the support and encouragement (both direct and by example) of other bloggers, and it won’t be written without it, either. You have been warned!

What particularly intrigues me about blogging is its dynamism; that’s to say, writing here rarely ever stays still. There’s always some kind of development taking place into new arenas of thought – all those bloggers who were courageous enough to try the novel in a month know that it has had a profound impact on their posting. For me, the next challenge will be simply to decide where to go with this blog over the course of the year. It’s been the best fun building it up, but can I manage to maintain it and keep my audience entertained? And write a research book and a non-fiction book at the same time? I can only answer those doubts with a resounding: I certainly hope so! You set a great example to me out there, and I’ll be doing my best to follow it.

29 thoughts on “A Year In Blogging

  1. I have no doubt you will manage to keep us all more than entertained. Your blog has filled a nice spot in my online reading and I have added plenty of books to my TBR list because of you. It is always a pleasure to visit you here. Happy New Year!

  2. Wow, only 9 months? I had not looked through your archives but I assumed that you had been doing this for years. The tone of your posts is so self-assured. Congrats on creating such an excellent blog.

  3. A really nice post about the development of your blogging and what it has done for you. It can be a really wonderful thing, this writing for a not-necessarily academic audience. To me it has the potential of being everything that bookclubs and graduate school seminars should be but with very rare exceptions are not.

  4. I’ll echo the others — wonderful post. You’ve described a lot of things I’ve felt myself — about the dynamism of writing on blogs and how blogs change how I read and how blogs can make reading so much more exciting and meaningful. I particularly like what you say about how blogging teaches you things — I’ve certainly learned a TON since I began blogging last March. And I’m so glad you began blogging!

  5. I’ve always enjoyed your insightful comments on other book blogs, and admire your writing very much. That Dani is terribly persuasive. I’ve added to my TBR pile considerably just from her suggestions!

  6. Once again you show how to do it, Litlove. You always seem to be able to get at the vibrant heart of the matter and show everyone, with such thoughtful and insightful prose, what is going on. It’s always a pleasure to read your posts.

  7. I love how your 2006 blogging has spanned nine months, a gestation period of such extraordinary richness and growth — not just for you, but for your readers too. I’m so looking forward to hearing more about your next book(s), and your next reads, and your next thoughts. Happy New Year dear litlove. xo, BL

  8. As a very new blogger, I felt quite intimidated when I first began reading this blog. It seemed so learned yet so accessible and it was so wonderfully full of bookishness. Like you, Litlove, I don’t mix well at parties and am often found on the outskirts, observing. I remember being so nervous when I posted my first comment here. The welcome was wonderful and since then I have found friends through your blogroll. Your blog is my first read each morning and I take away the thoughts you bring to me and reply after they have matured in what passes as my mind. I am so glad you took up blogging. Reading you is an essential part of my day.

  9. my sentiments almost exactly, archiearchive! indeed, 2006 has been a wonderful year for blogging for many wordpressers. i tried to come up with 100 facts about blogging this year, but i could only come up with
    56. >.

  10. I echo all of the above. It was a joy finding your blog amongst the morass of techie-blogs, and you’ve led me to other interesting bloggers and to other books (I’m reading Madame Bovary as we speak). Your voice is assured, measured and gentle and inclusive. This really is a very special place.

  11. Like everyone else, I always look forward to reading your blog and thank you for your kind generosity in sharing so much so freely. I’m sure there are many others like myself who, while we don’t often comment, are regular readers and appreciative of the many great gifts you bring us. Very best wishes for a wonderful New Year.

  12. Litlove – I have been blogging for only six months and have experienced all the above worries and thoughts that you have so beautifully expressed in your post. Yes, I have left comments on other blogs and nobody has responded so yes, immediately one feels a bit neglected, which is why I always respond to any comments left on mine, and I started off wondering if anybody would read me. Looking back at my posts, I can now see how much more confident the later ones are as I have found my feet and my style. I LOVE BLOGGING. I have just listed my favourite books of 2006 and mentioned that so many of these reads have come from recommendations and Challenges from fellow bloggers. Finding kindred spirits all over the world is a total joy and delight and long may it continue.

    Really, the only thing to say is that blogging is such FUN!

  13. I also assumed you’d been blogging for much longer than nine months! Book blogging has re-invigorated my reading habits too, and I’ve taken inspiration from you as much as anyone, particularly when looking out for books to buy in France!

  14. Yes, I had thought you were an old hand at this as well! Your writing is so clear and thoughtful, and you tackle so many fascinating subjects.

    My blog, though often about books, is pretty light fare, but nevertheless I, too, have learned a great deal from blogging, and have discovered many delightful books that I never would have come across were it not for all the wonderful book-related blogs out there.

    Congrats on creating a very fine blog, and all the best with your future projects in the New Year!

  15. I love reading your blog and the fantastic comments it inspires. I always want to read the books you read and recommend, so maybe you could try writing a post on Ulysses, which I have never read and feel I ought to, but which holds little attraction for me…?

    Kathryn x

  16. Thank you so much, to the bloggers that are new commenters, and to those whose words I’ve come to rely on over the year. I couldn’t keep this up if I didn’t have such a wonderful group of bloggers to read and be read by. I’m sending much love and warmest wishes for a very Happy New Year to you all.

  17. This is a real inspiration. I am relatively new to blogging as well and am often surprised at how attached I have become to it. I look forward to another year of reading you. All best for 2007.

  18. I came here from Charlotte Otter’s blog. Of course, I have no idea how to put a link to her in my comment since I am fairly new to blogging (only since July this year) and a true technophobe.

    It has taken me a while to figure out my style of blogging. I love to read, and I considered writing about books. I have strong political opinions, maybe I could be a commentator. But all that feels like “work”, smacks of English class assignments. Besides, there are so many people who are doing those things so much better than I am.

    I guess what I am is a story teller. There are so MANY stories to tell. I find myself checking my blog stats, wanting more people to read my stuff. I think this may be a throwback to the bad old days when I was an unhappy teenager making vows like this: “They will be sorry they said that to me. Someday I will be famous and then they’ll be sorry.”

    What I have really been enjoying about blogging is the opportunity to get to know other people. And, the list of books TBR is a wonderful development from all the reading of other people’s blogs.

    For example, I just read “A Spot of Bother” by Mark Haddon this week because some one had reviewed it favorably and I saw it on the shelf of the library. What a great read it was, funny and wise and well written.

    And that is the great and wonderful thing about blogging. Plus, you get to meet people from all over the world, talk to them, and your phone bill doesn’t get astronomical because of it. What could be better?

    Well, if I could figure out a way to type on the computer and get some aerobic exercise at the same time, my life would approach perfection.

  19. Nobody has yet said what I am thinking about the value of this blog, and you, Litlove. For me, from the moment I found the Reading Room, it’s been the place, and you the person, that made me understand there was something about blogging that can’t be found anywhere else. There are others, and many of their names appear in the comments above, who do so much to contribute to that feeling, but without this room I wouldn’t feel nearly so welcome at “the party.” So, thank you, for a wonderful first three months.

  20. Nova – it only gets worse the more you do! It’s really terribly addictive. healingmagichands, I can’t think of anything better to do than tell stories on a blog – well, that and meet other wonderful bloggers. And talking of wonderful bloggers…. bless you, David. You know the feeling is quite mutual.

  21. When I first started blogging I really didn’t know quite what I wanted to do either. It was a bit of this and that and rarely did anyone ever leave a comment. It eventually evolved into mostly books, and I am happy to have found that niche. It is amazing the wealth of information out there when it comes to reading and books that others are willing to share! And Litlove, very often you give me excellent reading suggestions, too, and I am always very appreciative of them! You are an excellent writer (just reading your posts makes me feel smarter!), It would be great if you wrote something non-academic!! Keep us posted!!

  22. Pingback: » From Kate’s Book Blog - Reading Resolutions for 2007 - Best Book Blogging

Leave a comment