A Double Anniversary

SNB-logoYes,  it’s our first year anniversary at Shiny New Books and we’re celebrating with our 5th edition. Please do go over and check out our reviews, features, interviews and articles. Plus, we’ve got a special announcement about our new Shiny Book Club.

And on the 2nd April, this blog marked its 9th anniversary. That’s scary, isn’t it? It doesn’t feel as if nine years have gone past, though a lot has happened, admittedly. Nine years ago, I had just come off work on sick leave from the university, my son’s voice hadn’t even broken, and Mr Litlove was working for a different company. We were all quite different people, I think; there’s been a lot of changing and growing and developing going on here in all that time.

But the main constant – and the loveliest gift of all from blogging – has been the company of many dear virtual friends. So many of you have been visiting here faithfully for years, and I can’t thank you enough for that. And it’s been an extra delight to have good friends from the Reading Room become good friends at Shiny, too.

So a special thank you to Annabel, Harriet, Simon and Bookgazing, who are all on the Shiny Adventure.

And I am so pleased to direct you towards some of the fabulous reviews and articles in our 5th edition by these wonderful people:

Danielle picks us Books for Spring

Jean encourages us toward Reading in Translation

Arti considers the role Stefan Zweig played in Anderson’s The Grand Budapest Hotel

Ingrid interviews American giant of letters, Phillip Lopate

Stefanie reviews Orlando and The Waves

Susan reviews the new Patrick Gale, A Place Called Winter

Denise reviews Don’t Let Him Know by Sandip Roy

Karen reviews The Man In A Hurry by Paul Morand

And now that Shiny no.5 is finally out, I catch up with my email correspondence! If I owe you an email, a thousand apologies – I’ll be writing very soon!

 

 

 

17 thoughts on “A Double Anniversary

  1. Congratulations to all of you at Shiny. A whole year … I can’t believe it. And even more congratulations for nine years at Tales from the Reading Room … and for all the changing and growing and developing.

  2. The new edition looks great… I love the way you and the team write the intro pages too, so fresh and inviting.
    Nine years is a long time to be blogging and I’m sure things have changed a lot for your family in that time. Your blog is always beautifully written, thoughtful and entertaining.

  3. Congrats on the anniversaries! As usual, I let my own 9th anniversary go by without a mention. Next year, though! Next year, I’ll have to celebrate somehow. Anyway, it’s been SO lovely blogging alongside you all these years!

  4. Please add my congratulations to these, definitely one of my very few favourite blogs, regularly read and enjoyed, appreciated and thought on.

  5. Yay for SNB! And a hearty congratulations on 9 years of your fantastic blog. I am so very glad you started it. I hope there are many more years to come!😀

  6. Congratulations on 9 years of Tales from the Reading Room – my favourite book blog from the day I first discovered you (via a mention from John Baker, I think) and still!

  7. Thank you SO much dear blog friends! I noticed today that I’ve just passed the million hits mark, which is a milestone I guess! Things have been very hectic around here lately, but I’ll be getting back into a more usual pattern over the next week, and catching up with you all, too. Big hugs to you all.

    • Oooh – yes it is a milestone. Congratulations. It’s not easy on a book blog. I hit it very quickly with my movie blog but the book blog is nowhere near that mark. Nowhere.🙂

  8. Congrats–nine years is quite impressive–and I can’t believe it has been a whole year now since SNB first came out. Yikes, time is flying by far too quickly, isn’t it?! But it has been a great run of years–and here is to many more for both Tales from the Reading Room and SNB!🙂

Leave a Reply

