Friday Teasers

It’s boiling hot here – in a steamy sort of way – and we’re expecting family for the weekend, so rather than a real post, a few teasers for reviews I’ve written over on SNB that will take you to the best books I’ve read over the past few months.

 

The one I wanted as soon as I saw it, received through the post with glee and loved it as much as I’d hoped.

 

The one I thought had the best writing – on average three brilliant sentences a page.

 

The one I didn’t think I’d like, put off reading until the very end, and then found gripping, poignant and altogether amazing.

 

The one that was sheer quality and class from start to finish.

 

The one that had the best twist.

 

The one that was both brilliant and irritating that I wished I could discuss with other readers.

 

The one that was very funny, and very, very sad.

 

The one that was the best comfort read.

 

Hope you all have a lovely weekend!

 

21 thoughts on “Friday Teasers

  1. Oooh, Miriam Toews makes it to your list.  

    I think these are brilliant teasers, because they are exactly the sort of things most people want out of a book.  But it feels like there are a lot of books to trawl through before you get that “hit” – hence the reason why SNB is such a good idea.

    It is hot, isn’t it?  I can barely think straight.  I’m melting.

    Hope you have a good weekend.

    ________________________________

    • I’m so glad you like them! Even in SNB there can be quite a lot of choice, and these represent the books I enjoyed the most, I think (though I did like the Simon von Booy and couldn’t think of a teaser for it!). I completely agree – I’m melting too! They say a storm for us tomorrow, and I wouldn’t say no to one…. so long as it doesn’t just make the heat wetter. Have a lovely weekend, too.🙂

  2. I’m glad for this list because, to be honest, reading my way through a whole magazine, isn’t feasible for me at the moment. With these small hints I know which reviews to pick and read.

    • It’s always hard to know where to start, isn’t it? Some days, I feel overwhelmed even by the blog world and the amount of books that sound good and tempting!

  3. In the Light of What We Know has been recommended to me by a couple people and now here you go and include it on your list too. I am in line for it at the library so it will probably be a couple months before my turn comes up but I am looking forward to it.

    • It’s amazing how readers are magnetically drawn to the right books for them. Grad fancies My Salinger Year and you are interested in In the Light of What We Know, which is probably one of the books I’d pick out for you. I think you’d find the way its written intriguing and pick up on all the cleverness woven in and out of its themes and events. I’d love to know what you think of it!

  4. Excellent teasers, Litlove! You’ve made me particularly curious about The Headmaster’s Wife, though I will of course read ahead and find out what the twist is ahead of time. I am filled with ‘satiable curiosity.

  5. Great teasers. I’m intrigued by The Headmaster’s Wife, frankly scared by ‘In the Light of what we know’ and I’m going to be looking out for Miriam Toews. Not sure I could cope with more Salinger at the moment but your review of it made me wish for a ‘gentle and contemplative book that takes its time and recreates its situations vividly’. I think your blog is a lot like that incidentally🙂

    • Aw, bless you, Pete! I’d love to know what you make of the Miriam Toews. The Headmaster’s Wife is a great book, but you might be upset by the afterword, so perhaps best to avoid that bit (it involves bad things happening to premature babies). Though if anyone has the emotional intelligence to deal with it, it’s you!

  6. Thanks so much, Litlove, for the introduction to My Salinger Year. It just bowled me over. After a tentative start, I was enthralled and have rushed about recommending it to everyone I know who loves reading. Your interview and of course the original review were so enticing.
    Also for me a landmark read for this year, and I must confess i ws not a Salinger fan before I read it, but now…..

    • I am SO glad you enjoyed this one! I did love it so. I’ve now tried Salinger (you sort of have to after reading this, if you’ve never read him before) and I had a mixed experience. But I will probably try him again. Now of course, I just want Joanna Rakoff to go and write some more!

Leave a Reply

