Mr Litlove Strikes Again

IMG_20130925_183021

Just a quick post with a not-terribly-good photo of the new bookcase that Mr Litlove has made me. It’s in Arts & Crafts style for those of you who like to know such things. I was just very pleased indeed to have such a handsome home for my hardback books. The volumes on top were quite modest, until yesterday’s post brought me the shortlist for this year’s Booker prize. The Book People are selling all six volumes for Β£30, or in my case given they had an extra promotion going on the day I ordered, Β£27. I’d heard reports that the 2013 list was the best in a decade, and whilst that is probably marketing hype, I was happy to go along with it. It’s more usual for journalists to knock the books in whatever way they can, and this year’s head judge is Robert Macfarlane, who seems to have the Midas touch, so… Oh, who cares about justification, it was just book lust, okay?πŸ™‚

49 thoughts on “Mr Litlove Strikes Again

  1. Does Mr Litlove take commissions? And yes, I’ve been looking at that offer as well. If I actually spent good money on them maybe I would get round to reading them. Although I have to say that doesn’t always follow!

    • Ha, I know just what you mean! I am very much of the opinion that when I am buying a book, I am buying the time to read it… I just wish it were so! As for Mr Litlove I do hope one day to hire him out, but there are a few bookcases I need him to do first…..πŸ˜‰

  2. London Review of Books have published a list of their most popular fiction titles over the last ten years.
    http://www.lrbshop.co.uk > left menu – Reading Guide – A decade of fiction.
    Can vouch for the Summer Book by Tove Jansson, The Uncommon Reader (of course), and Sense of an Ending.
    3 out of 10 over 10 years – hmm, oh well.

    • I tell you, if Mr C has any little misdemeanors he’d like to make up for, here is the perfect opportunity. Unprompted is very impressive, but there’s nothing wrong with a nudge from time to time.πŸ™‚

  3. Beautiful bookcase! I love the details he added. I can’t tell what wood he used from the picture, but it looks like a lovely fine grain. I’ve read A Testament of Mary and have started Harvest. Lowlands and We Need New Names are waiting for me at pick-up at the library. TransAtlantic was on the long list, and I finished that last month, but wasn’t all that excited by it; it was fine, though. I’ll be interested what you think about the shortlisted books once you’ve finished them. It would be nice if I could finish them before the big “ta-da” (around Oct. 15?), but doubt I will.

    • Grad, you are doing fantastically well on the shortlist! I confess I’ve yet to start my new books, as the writing course is keeping me quite busy at the moment. But I am looking forward immensely to comparing notes with you over the weeks ahead!

  4. Mr Litlove made that for you? That is great, it’s such a nice bookcase. And so many good books as well! I’ve only read about the shortlisted books, but I’m interested to see how they stack up. I hope you share your thoughts on them when you’re done.πŸ™‚

    • I most certainly will share my thoughts – actually it seems an .age since I’ve done a book post, though I have got through a lot of reading. But much of it thrillers and/or comfort reading about which there is less to say. Thank you for your lovely comment about the bookcase and I can’t wait to get started on the shortlist

    • Bless you, dear Charlotte for your lovely comment. I should think you owe yourself a big reward for all the publicity work you’ve been doing, and the sheer fact that BG is out there!

  5. Oh what a beautiful bookcase! Mister Litlove is extremely talented. (Also, nice curtains!)

    And everyone knows that ‘discounted’ really means exactly the same as ‘free’…πŸ™‚ Well done!

    • Heh, this makes me laugh every time. You are SO right about that term discounted, it’s uncanny! And thank you, I’m actually very fond of the curtains myself.πŸ™‚

    • We are rapidly running out of walls, and considering places like the spare bedroom! But yes, we haven’t reached completely full capacity yet… I feel for you with your limited space! But I guess there’s the recompense of living in Paris…πŸ™‚

  6. Those shelves are absolutely beautiful.

    No need to justify your book lust here!πŸ™‚ And seriously, WHAT A BARGAIN. The book from the short list I am most interested in is The Luminaries, but it isn’t out here until mid October.

  7. That is a great bookcase! Now if it had a hinge in the middle so it would fold and there was an identical one to go alongside, with a middle piece to hide the construction, that would double the capacity and there would be no need to worry about piling books on top, for at least a few weeks!

    • Thank you, dear Lilian. I’m really looking forward to the shortlist, just negotiating the usual problem of finding the time to pick up the books. But I will, I will….πŸ™‚

  8. Love that book shelf, very artsy! You must be real proud of Mr. Litlove’s great talent and skill. Go ahead… buy more books, make his day!πŸ˜‰

  9. Pingback: Die Sonntagsleserin – 3. KW 2014 | buchpost

Leave a Reply

