13 thoughts on “Angela Carter

  1. I’m a great fan of Carter, especially Nights at the Circus which I think was the first of her books that I read. You have written about her wordy style magnificently.

    The Cat

  2. I will hop over there and check it out. I’ve been urged to read Angela Carter for years now but haven’t gotten around to it.

  3. Wonderful post, Litlove. I remember reading Angela Carter for the first time when I was 18.Other than the books we read for school I didn’t read a lot of English literature in English. Her vocabulary impressed me and was a huge challenge. I made an effort and looked up all of the words. Typically, at that time, I’d look up one – two words per page but in her case….
    I still think she is one of a few authors with an immense vocabulary.

    • I am so impressed that you read this at 18! I was struggling through Duras then, and not really getting her, I feel sure… You must have spent so much time with the dictionary! But still, what a way to increase vocabulary – I completely agree with you about Angela Carter’s.

Leave a Reply

