May Reading

As is so often the case, my eyes have proved to be bigger than my stomach, and despite reading every available moment, I realise I’m not going to get through all the books I set myself! Therefore, A Week of Espionage will be shifted from this coming week to next, beginning on 13th May and running through to the 19th. I don’t expect anyone was exactly holding their breath in anticipation, but if you wanted to join in there is at least another week to pick up a book in. Though really, given that I can’t keep up with my own reading, I hardly expect anyone else to!

Yoga Geoff DyerThis month’s creative non-fiction book is Geoff Dyer’s Yoga For People Who Can’t Be Bothered to Do It, and I’ll be writing about that on Sunday 26th May.

The Slaves of Golconda’s next book will be The Leopard by Giuseppe Tomasi di Lampedusa, which is a book I’m really looking forward to, as I’ve wanted to read it for ages and ages. We’ll be posting reviews on the 8th June and please do join us if you’d like to.

I’m also hoping to read this month Knausgaard’s first volume of My Struggle, entitled A Death in the Family (in the UK), Louise Erdrich’s new novel, The Round House, and Shirley Jackson’s classic We Have Always Lived In The Castle. And anything else I can squeeze in!

And many apologies, my manic reading has put me behind in all other online activities, including commenting on your posts and replying to emails. I will catch up very soon, I do hope.

23 thoughts on “May Reading

  1. A few titles I have on my piles as well. I’m planning on reading Lampedusa but I’m not sure I’ll make it until then. I don’t want to read a translation and reading in the original will slow me down.
    I often have bigger eyes than time…

    • Not reading in translation is a really good idea, but it does slow you down (not that I can read Italian). I’ll be very interested to hear what you think of The Leopard when you get to it!

  2. I have kept My Struggle so long that it is now due back at the library without my having read it at all. Ach! I’d love to join you for the Slaves of Glaconda read some day, thanks for an open invitation. As to We Have Always Lived In The Castle what a delicious, and for me autumnal, read.

    No worries about visiting. We are not to turn our joy into a job, remember?

    • Oh lots of books reach their due date with me and have to go back! (And an awful lot more I buy for a rainy day, ahem). We’d love for you to join us in the Slaves, but just whenever you can. Those are wise words about not making a pleasure into a duty! And I wish I visited more than I do… so many wonderful bloggers I don’t visit often enough.

  3. Oh good–not that you are feeling overwhelmed (I So understand that feeling) but that now I might actually finish at least one of the books I wanted to read along with you for your week of espionage. I pretty much exist in a continuous state of ‘taking on more than I can manage’–so you just squeeze in what you can and try to enjoy yourself along the way, right! I loved We Have Always Lived in the Castle by the way and look forward to hearing your take on it! I have pulled out the Lampedusa–another book I should probably start now in order to have enough time to actually finish it. Enjoy your books–it sounds like you have lots of good ones going at the moment!

    • I am so pleased if this helps you too – I feel completely justified in postponing now!🙂 And thank you for the solidarity – it’s just impossible to stop myself sometimes, though this particular time, I really did go nuts! Looking forward to us all getting together on The Leopard – I’ve wanted to read that for ages (and you know how that goes!).

  4. Can’t wait for the new Louise Erdrich. I think we have to wait a while for The Round House to be published in the UK. She’s hardly even stocked in the bookshops here anymore. Hopefully the success of The Round House will bring about some interest.

    • Ah well, good news there: The book is just out in the shops (saw it today). I’m really looking forward to this one and feeling very guilty that I haven’t read it already. I don’t know where the time goes!

  5. I’m really looking forward to The Leopard too. You are going to read Knausgaard? I have heard so many interesting things about his books and I am very curious. Can’t wait to hear what you make of him. If you have success then I will definitely have to read him.

    • I think The Leopard will make a great group read. And I’ve been wanting to read the Knausgaard for ages, so it’s really time to crack on. I will definitely let you know what I think!

  6. Fancy doing the Jackson together? Someone got it me as a present and it’d be great if I managed to actually read a gifted book in the year it was given🙂

  7. I think you will like We Have Always Lived in the Castle. I remember that you enjoyed The Haunting of Hill House.

    I read The Round House earlier this year. It was the first time I read Erdrich (although I had certainly heard of her before; I think I have a copy of The Last Report on the Miracles at Little No Horse or maybe Love Medicine someplace in my house). I was very impressed and enjoyed the book a lot. I hope you do too.

    • I am looking forward so much to the Shirley Jackson. I have pretty much loved everything else she’s done, and am waiting for Penguin to release some of her earlier novels this coming autumn. I’m also delighted to know you enjoyed The Round House. I’m trying to hard to get to it – should be able to pick it up tomorrow now, hurray!

  8. I loved many things about A Death in the Family and can’t wait to read Volume 2 of My Struggle. What moved me most, though, was the detailed account of a boy’s inner journey to become a man – what a foreign, startling and sometimes upsetting country this seemed to me, even in these days when gender divisions are reckoned to be so much diminished. Thinking of your recent moving piece about your relationship with your son, I wonder if you too will find this among the book’s most powerful aspects.

Leave a Reply

