Being Woodstock

 

I feel like Woodstock in this cartoon lately. Whilst I’m pretty much fine about my redundancy now and am looking forward to all the new and exciting things I could do in the future, my body has other ideas.  Every few days it seems I hit another little dip in my health, and I get over it just in time for the next one to come along.  The shock of hearing the news about my job so unexpectedly has really messed with my sympathetic nervous system and now it’s taking forever for it to get back in balance.

My reiki practitioner thinks that this is a period of readjustment, and that I’m clearing out all sorts of old habits and responses and modes of thought that I don’t need any more, ready to move into a new phase of my life. This has the advantage of being a very positive perspective! So I like it and I’ll keep it; I just wish it didn’t mean in practice that I had to feel so rubbish.

Many apologies to friends who are waiting on an email from me, and to bloggers whose posts I regularly comment on. I’ll be back! And as soon as I actually finish another book, I’ll write about it here.

38 thoughts on “Being Woodstock

  1. Oh, you and me both! Aren’t there just times when you wish you could hand your old body in and order a new model? Take care, The Bears and I are thinking about you.

  2. Take care of yourself and don’t rush through this process. Your body is telling you to take it easy so that is what you need to do. Change can wreck havoc on our nervous systems even when we can see it as a good thing!

  3. Hope you are better soon. In the words of somebody or other, the wheel is always turning, go with the flow, let it roll, soon be moving up again – let’s hope so!

    • Oh those silver-tongued wise old somebodies! They knew a thing or two.😉 Thank you dear Bookboxed – you’re quite right that it can’t last forever, which is an encouraging thought.

  4. Litlove struggling to finish a book? I can’t believe it. Hope you’re feeling better soon and take all the time you need. I’m looking forward to hearing about your next literary project. On the reading side, I’ll be interested to hear what comfort reads you recommend. I’m reading Sherlock Holmes at the moment and it’s pretty undemanding but still entertaining. Not quite what I need but there’s something reassuring about the almost innocent-like quality of some of those crimes compared with the horrors of today.

    • I know! I’m on a permanent go-slow it seems! And isn’t it hard to find exactly the right comfort read? When I’m in the mood for something more literary, it’s much easier to appreciate a book than when I want a guaranteed, hit-the-spot comfort novel. But I also tend to go back in time – less cynicism, less artificiality, less contrivance altogether, I find. Thank you for the lovely comment, Pete; it’s always very good to hear from you.

  5. I like what your Reiki practitioner says but I can also understand that we always want change to feel good, if it doesn’t we start to doubt it but as a matter of fact a lot of change feels not that good at the beginning. You’ll get there. Follow your own rhythm.

    • You’re right that change does NOT feel good initially. And I hate transitions – they are always awkward and disquieting. But I like what you say about rhythm very much. It is those sorts of words – rhythm, balance – that bring into clearer focus what I’m aiming for.

    • Thank you, Smithereens! I would really like to be raring to go now and full of beans from an extended holiday. Gah! Ah well, hopefully I’ll get there in the end.

  6. That’s one reason why I love the Peanuts. Charles Schultz just knew how to depict our inner world. Don’t we all have moments like that. Take your time to heal and revive, rest and live according to your own pace, litlove. Blog visiting and commenting can wait. But I thank you for yours, esp. in a Woodstock state.😉

    • I am a huge Peanuts fan, and if I didn’t restrain myself, I’d be tempted to post a cartoon at the top of every blog entry! Thank you for the lovely and encouraging comment, Arti. I really do appreciate the support of my blog friends more than I can say.

  7. I’m not sure how old you are, nor would I ask, but I gather we’re roughly the same age. With similarly aged sons. And if you’re anything like me this is a strange period of life to be in. Not exactly old, but not exactly young, having a career of several decads, yet not wanting to be out of one yet; I find myself scratching my head, sometimes proud of where I’ve landed and sometimes shocked. This aging process is hard, seeing parents become fragile, and sons becoming ever more independent. And where do we fit in all of this? Sometimes in bed. Sometimes scooping up chocolate and ice cream and chips. Sometimes deep in prayer, saying, “Lord. Help me through this time.”

    xoxo

    • Thank you for your lovely comment, Bellezza, and I couldn’t agree more. This IS a strange time, half in and half out of so many significant and energy-consuming roles. I was made redundant in a real shock move by my college a few weeks ago, and so I’m getting used to the loss of these two huge roles for me – mother and academic. It will be fine, and I know I have to let stuff go if I ever want new things to arrive. But I seem to be taking ages to get used to the new reality. But it will happen – the chocolate chip days will return!

  8. Your body is reminding you of the need to mourn, I think. Such a long relationship with a venerable institution of study and work is not something you can put aside quickly, however much you have seen the regrettable down-side of the way higher education is going, and however much you appreciate and look forward to the new opportunities awaiting you.

    We all know about the inadvisability of ‘rebound’ relationships with people – perhaps it’s the same with careers.

    Recovery takes the time it takes, as you keep (ahem) reminding me🙂

    So – patience, and please take good care of yourself.

    • Oh I love that – it’s so true. Isn’t it easy to advise other people and incredibly hard to do it oneself?🙂 It’s funny; It’s like I scheduled about a fortnight into my calendar for ‘transition’ time, and now I seem still to be in transition I’m getting really impatient! Those old habits do die so hard. Thank you for reminding me what lies underneath all that surface friction – I needed it.

Leave a Reply

