What I Don’t Like About The Blogworld

Let’s put some context around this. I’ve been blogging for six years now so clearly I do love blogs and I am of the opinion that they provide a much-needed service, as a place of self-expression, as a way of getting all kinds of creativity out there and as a community for quiet bookish types to come together and have those book discussions they want. So, I certainly don’t want blogging to go away, I don’t even want it to change. But as the years roll by I suppose I become more aware of the drawbacks to this medium. Particularly as Ben and I are considering resurrecting my old site, Best of New Writing on the Web, and I’m starting to try to get a feel for what’s out there and to source new, interesting writers.

1. The thing is, the web rewards energy and dedication, but not necessarily quality. There may be all kinds of excellent blogs out there, but how do I find them? It’s quite likely such bloggers will post less often, which means near invisibility. You can find the bloggers with big community spirit, and that’s nice. But literary quality, quirkiness, the rare and unusual gems, believe you me, they do not float to the surface.

2. Because there is just SO MUCH out there. When I first began blogging, I couldn’t know everyone with a book blog, but it felt a lot more manageable. Now the field is so vast it is completely overwhelming. No single voice can be heard.

3. The web now reminds me of London – everything you could possibly want is there but it takes so darn long to get around it that I give up easily. The time! The time! I cannot believe how much time it takes to visit just the people I know, let alone trawl for others. I do not know how people with facebook and twitter accounts also blog. Where do they find the time to do it all?

4. And yet the familiar faces go. So many of the people I got to know and call friends over the years are no longer blogging, or blogging far less. And of course, this is right, as life must always take precedence over blogs. But it’s not like you can make the effort to go and call on friends who have moved away – once out of the virtual window, the blogger is a lost soul. It’s a shame, in its way. And you have to find the energy to keep making new friends.

5. The web breeds suspicion. Or at least it does with me lately. I can’t get my head around this new ‘like’ button. I always click through to check out the blogger and sometimes I wonder whether it is a spam site, or an author trying to sell their book (which of course is not the same as spam and editors make authors do it, so no criticism is implied, poor authors have no choice these days). I am very sorry if I have missed perfectly legitimate bloggers this way, but it is so hard to assess someone without a real comment. Oh and I should say I HAVE found nice blogs this way – I’m just not comfortable with my own mistrust, or the time it takes to satisfy it.

6. So this is the main issue with relation to my own blog: blogging is so dreadfully susceptible to entropy. You have to throw a lot of energy at a blog just to keep it standing still. If you take a break, on your return disproportionate amounts of energy need to be rallied to get back to where you were. It’s no wonder people give up. It’s no wonder good blogs are hard to find.

I don’t wish to whine here, just to look at what’s problematic about the blogworld, now it has reached such epic proportions. It’s like this enormous city with so many people crammed in that there is no room for street names and sign posts, and navigating around it is extremely hard work. I’m so glad blogs exist, and I think they have a very valuable purpose. I just wish there were a better way to surf the endless possibilities of the net.

63 thoughts on “What I Don’t Like About The Blogworld

  1. I prefered it when the blogging world was smaller too. These days I often discover whole communities of bloggers that I didn’t know existed – it is impossible to keep on top of it all . I wish there were signposts, but I’m happy blogging in my own little corner.

    • Jackie, I forget how long you’ve been blogging now, but it must be quite a while. It is that whole new world of bloggers thing that freaks me. A good friend sent me a link to a listing of book bloggers – hundreds and hundreds and only about two I recognised. I would happily blog away in my own corner, only it keeps changing and people keep leaving it.😦

  2. I find your first point to be my biggest issue with book blogs: so much fluff to sift through. And you are exactly right, quality seems to preclude quantity. But, I’ve found it worth my while to find those few gems, as you call them, and add them to my favorites and check in with them on occassion. I try to make sure I don’t post just to be posting. I only post when I feel I have something of value to say.

    • Amy, I think you’re very wise. I do try to do the same thing myself, and, ahem, mostly manage it. I wish there were easier ways to sift through blogs, as when I start looking so many seem so similar, but perhaps that’s just because I’ve caught them on a bad day? Ach, it’s so hard to know!

      • Sorry for the delay. Just now back to looking at blogs. I agree about the sameness, but I also know that the way I post about my reading, because it isn’t reviewing, isn’t what a lot of people are looking for on a book blog. Oh well, to each his own. This post really generated a lot of feedback!

  3. It is amazing how much the blog world, particularly the book blog world, has grown. I’m with you, I can’t keep up and I am always surprised to find blogs that have been chugging along for a year or two with large readerships (judging by comment numbers) and I only chanced upon them. Finding quality is hard especially when you want to go beyond the sites you already know about. Chasing blog links through comments on my own and the blogs of others is the most reliable way I have found but even that leaves out lots of good stuff and as you say, it takes so much time.

    • Oh boy, hasn’t it just? I’m relieved you say you can’t keep up either because I always admired the blogrolls you and Danielle have – they seem so huge! Lately I’ve been getting behind on comments and then I don’t do so much visiting which annoys me – I feel it’s the least I can do if someone has commented to go and visit them. But so often something has to give, you know?

  4. It is certainly the energy side of this question that has floored me over the years and as you say, this is not just in respect of posting myself, but finding those that I want to follow. One way I’ve tried to overcome this is to explore the blogrolls of those people I respect in the hope that they will lead me to writers of the same calibre. If you do revive ‘The Best of New Writing on the Web’ that would be a real service.

    • Alex, we need all the energy we can get, right? Going through blogrolls is a very good idea, and I am especially grateful to people with smallish but highly specific blogrolls. The Best of New Writing was fun the first time around, and I hope very much we can do something good with it. Having Ben to work with will certainly make it more fun. Watch this space! Hopefully we can get going in the autumn.

  5. That title is going to grab some attention. Those so grabbed will likely be disappointed by the thoughtful points and reasonable tone. I do not detect a hint of whining. #4 is even elegiac.

    The London analogy is excellent – substitute any big, lively city. Over there is the financial district, here is the neighborhood with the quirky shops, that place is mostly tourists, but still fun to visit once in a while. Antiquarians are clustered that way, next to the fast-changing immigrant neighborhood.

    Amy’s temperament is different than mine. I have to write and post on a regular schedule precisely to fight the entropy. Writing is difficult; it would be all too easy to let the whole thing slide. If I waited until I had something to say, I would just keep waiting. I write to discover what I want to say.

    I am not so sure than quantity and quality are at all related. Anecdotal Evidence puts up real writing every day, even on vacation. Pykk has something substantial and surprising twice a week. I could keep going. Rare cases, yes, but aren’t those the subject of litlove’s post?

    • First of all thank you for the recommendations – very helpful! I used to visit Anecdotal Evidence and have fallen out of the habit – Pykk is new to me. I admire very much the way you think your way so elegantly around the topic in your posts, but I know if I tried to do that one big fat mess would result (and indeed some days it does). So definitely my posts go better if I have an idea what I want to say before I say it. But then it is always interesting to see how other people work. Ha, it is amusing to think that this is a post with a ranty title but non-ranty content. Perhaps I’ll do it the other way round, next time, just to keep people on their toes.

  6. Interesting post, Victoria, although one side of me had hoped for a hysterical finger-pointing post. Although I know that’s not your style, I still love reading those posts once in a while😉

    I am rubbish at finding new bloggers, because the ones I know and love take up so much time as it is. And I’m definitely a quantity, community-spirited blogger, which does mean I can’t be a polish-every-word, quality blogger. Both have their plus points, but I agree that, in terms of creating an archive of great writing, the second course of action is better. But I spend so much of my time writing my thesis slowly, paragraph by paragraph, that I like having the outlet for writing a lot without thinking too much about it!

    • Oh you’re doing a thesis – you are allowed off any sort of word-polishing exercise if you don’t want it. There really is more than enough of that sort of thing in your day job – I remember so clearly rewriting each sentence two or three times! But then I know you do write very lovely and complex reviews of books on your blog, so clearly you have everything covered. If the day ever comes when I need to do some hysterical finger-pointing, I promise I will let you know!🙂

  7. I didn’t mean to imply that there isn’t room for quantity and quality, nor that both at the same time aren’t possible. I write regularly too; I just don’t post eveything I write. For sure I don’t polish anything; I just write. Were I independently wealthy, thus jobless, I’m sure I would read, write, and post more🙂

    • Oh for more income and more time! And yes, certainly there can be both quantity and quality, and hopefully that’s what everyone is ultimately aiming for. But we can respect how very difficult that is to do, too, with or without the independent wealth.🙂

  8. So true. And as someone relatively new to the blogosphere, I fear I’m just another voice in the crowd. It can feel as if you’re writing a post and releasing it into a giant abyss, so large and diverse, it’s hard to know who is reading your work, or as you noted, who we should be reading and might be missing. But, maybe that’s half the fun: the anonymity, mystery and discovery that the world of bloggers has to offer. You never know what you’ll find (and, I’m glad I found yours!).
    Cheers to the various kinds of writers that make our blogosphere go round: the community-spirited bloggers, polish-every-word bloggers, and even the newbie bloggers like myself 🙂

    • It was intimidating enough when I started blogging, all those years ago, so goodness knows what it’s like now. But as you rightly note, the beginning of the adventure has its own sweetness. I hope you keep on making loads of new discoveries and that you are repeatedly discovered in your turn. Go read her, everyone!

  9. I sometimes think finding good blogs is not so different from finding good books: You have to try to discern whether a blog is highly visible because it’s good or because it’s well-publicized. And the really good stuff slides along under the radar. I’m trying to do more sharing of links to blogs I enjoy on Twitter, but I know there’s no way to read all the good stuff (which again is rather like reading books).

    I’m like Tom in needing to write consistently in order to keep writing at all. I write my reviews shortly after finishing a book, which makes it part of my reading routine. I don’t feel like I’ve finished the book until I write a post about it because it’s through writing that I start to figure out what I think–and then commenters come by and help me develop my thoughts.

    • I used to be so good about reviewing books shortly after reading them. I certainly write better reviews that way, but these days I do find that the time somehow elapses. I guess that’s just old age, blogging-wise! I like your analogy to books, although they have genres and categories and reviews and all sorts of signposts to help the reader. I keep wondering whether categories would help with distinguishing blogs – and then I know they wouldn’t really. It’s just wishful thinking!

    • It’s mind-boggling, the sheer volume of stuff there is out there. But on a different note, I’m very glad to see you here and to read your recent post. I was on the point of emailing you to see how you were!

  10. First off, congrats on six years of blogging. As you know, I’ve just past my fifth, and I know exactly what it means when you say about the time and energy involved, esp. when one wants to produce quality posts. A few years ago there was the ‘slow blogging movement’ to which I totally subscribe… as a matter of fact, I first read about it on Stefanie’s blog. It’s that kind of a spirit, the focus on substance vs. superficiality, quality over quantity that, not only the blogging world, but every aspect of our society needs today. Your concerns are not only valid for blogging but almost all areas of this digital, technologically driven, ephemeral, publicity and popularity seeking, superficial and material world. Phew! You’ve put into words for us all.

    • Arti, to think that in the beginning I used to post every day! I don’t know how I did it, now. I’m much more tempted towards slow blogging, too. But then I find I’m too verbose for that, when unconstrained by time. When the university year starts again, though, things may just have to be different then. I absolutely subscribe to the qualities you mention here, like substance over superficiality. I think that whatever we do, we really ought to do it to the very best of our abilities. It may be a tough rule to uphold, but it’s a worthwhile one. And you are so right – this is a concern that arises out of a huge new field unfolding and developing around us. That’s a very good point!

  11. I agree that things are not what they used to be. Six years ago, 30 minutes trawling the web would lead to ten new bloggers writing fabulous stuff with whom I would be keen to be friends, both in blogworld and the real world. Now, when I do make the effort to find someone new, it is just that – effortful. The fun has turned to labour, and not particularly rewarding labour at that. There must be great new bloggers out there, just how to find them?

    • I agree- it’s not like the old days. I miss blogging and the old community/ies. It frustrates me to feel like a mere consumer of other peoples creativity rather than a creator and participant myself. I like to think I’ll get back into it properly again one day but I can’t see it happening as long as I have a full time job😦

      I also think how people use the internet has changed- the whole Facebook “Like” thing does not lend itself to a culture of crafting thoughtful responses to what people say- and you can’t develop relationships in the absence of a satisfying dialogue.

      • Amanda, yes, that full-time job thing really must mess with trying to make significant virtual world contact! I also felt your second paragraph here is perfect. That’s exactly what I’m trying to say.

    • Charlotte, you put your finger on it exactly. It really was much easier to find friends, wasn’t it? These days I even look through all the blogs shortlisted for awards like the BBAW ones and still can’t find many who seem like potential buddies. I feel the template of blogging has changed and a lot of the relatively recent bloggers (not all of them, of course, there are all sorts) have a different sort of vibe to them, a professionalism that isn’t quite the old reaching-out warmth. Ach I can’t find the right words for it. But I’m very glad you still manage to blog from time to time!

  12. What I think is nice about blogging is that there is really something out there for every one. In terms of blogs we read as well as in terms of “blogging behaviour”. I also think that quantity and quality are not related at all. Some post daily and it’s of high quality some once a month and it’s bad…and vice versa.

  13. #4 spoke to me. I miss my blogging friends and I’m so often on the point of posting (or emailing a few blogging friends) and then I think that ‘real life’ must take precedence. And the less I post, the less confident I feel and so on. I think there’s a natural ebb and flow to blogging and I think I just need to get better at it.

    • It doesn’t matter how infrequently you post, Pete, but I know I’d be very sad if you didn’t post at all. But I do know how incredibly consuming a small child is, plus a full time job! But never feel unconfident about posting – your friends just want to know how you are.🙂

  14. I couldn’t agree more, Litlov. Thanks for voicing the issues. And it is not just the actual writing for me, but the keeping-up. Dropping out for a time left me feeling like I was starting over.

    • Oh I hear you! I’ve dropped out a couple of times over the six years, as is inevitable with cfs, and each time the return has felt like climbing a mountain – when I’d been away a couple of months it took literally years to get back to where I’d been. That was a really dispiriting experience.

  15. I’d point out that Amateur Reader’s blog is excellent too, but I think everybody already reads it. Litlove, these are all good points. The amount of wading you have to do through the so-so blogs to reach the brilliant ones: oh yes. I say to myself, “There’s not enough brilliant ones,” and then I say back to myself, “And how long has it been since you had the time to read all the brilliant ones you already know? What do you want more for?”

    I put myself on that twice-a-week schedule to stave off the entropy problem and at first I wondered if I’d run out of ideas but the opposite seems to be happening. If I tell myself that I have to have some sort of halfway coherent notion at least twice weekly then I have one, and once I start writing that one down I find more, and so on, until my posts get massively long, and then I split them in half and voila: two posts. Then more ideas come. Three posts. “No doubt, this industry compelled him to put down a string of ideas which, had he persevered in the idle life that was his first choice, might never have seen the light of day,” writes Proust, referring to Sainte-Beuve’s weekly literary column. He is translated by Sylvia Townsend-Warner. And yet (he goes on) those ideas the critic put into his column, couldn’t he have used them in a book? “[H]eroically, to embellish the offering, he sacrificed his dearest Isaac, his last Iphigenia.” But if he hadn’t been forced to write then he might not have written at all, so the point about the book is moot.

    • Pykk, it’s nice to meet you. I came over to visit and noticed that, like Amateur Reader, you have the ability to follow the development of your own thoughts interestingly in the moment. This does not happen to me! I need a book as a spring board, on the whole. Or a theory. Or an event. So my blog is a voracious life-feeder and maintaining a balance between living and blogging is always an intriguing challenge. It’s true I don’t always have the time to visit the blogs I know I enjoy, but having the specific goal of discovering good writing online certainly focuses the mind on the issues of blogworld navigation!

  16. My head only nodded harder as I read through your provocative post. With the blogworld (social media in general) growing at a pace faster than the speed of light and the number of book blogs grows exponentially, I just cannot keep up with all of them. That’s just for fact. I used to keep track of how many blogs are linked to mine and got all caught up with blog traffic. Now I just blog about what I’m passionate about and I care less if there are just 3 people reading it. I don’t like to indulge in activities that take precedence over book reviews, which I think should be the primary focus of any book blog. I also see that bloggers compete to whip out reviews of books that are hot off the press and so there is this war going on with ARCs.

    As for blog browsing, I stick with a manageable number of blogs that have constantly spoken to my reading taste. Don’t fret over not keeping up because it’s an invincible task.

    • You’re right it’s too hard to keep up with everything. But I would like to find a better way to navigate around, if The Best of New Writing on the Web is going to be successfully resurrected. I used to post monthly ‘editions’ that contained about 10 new blog posts in each. This time around, I think Ben and I will post as we find, but it’s still quite a big ask. The main thing in blogging generally is to discover – as you have done – exactly what suits you and stick to it. I’m sure that’s the secret of virtual happiness!

  17. I’ve been winnowing down the number of blogs I read, rather than winnowing up. I think the main way I discover new blogs these days is when someone else whose blog I already read posts links to a blog they like — and then I’ll follow it up (sometimes). But it has become harder. I love the blogs of the people whose blogs I’ve loved all along, but I don’t feel as sure of my ability to find amongst everything that exists in the book blogosphere these days the new(er) blogs that would suit my taste.

    I’m glad you said this! I think it but am afraid I will sound curmudgeonly and unwelcoming if I say it out loud. You, of course, don’t at all, but just sound gracious and thoughtful as usual.

    • Oh bless you, and you always say things so very humourously. I miss reading you! But it’s wonderful that you still come by and visit. I really do appreciate how incredibly hard it is to blog and have a full real life! But I feel just as you do, and that a couple of years ago I had no worries about finding blogs I liked, whereas now…. it’s like the basic template has subtly altered to something that is yes, still good and interesting and well done but somehow doesn’t speak to me as much.

  18. I liked your London analogy Litlove. Can we be Bloomsbury?

    As a relative newcomer to the blogging world, I think I must still be in the honeymoon phase. Book blogs have opened so many new lines of enquiry and reading opportunities to me, how could I not be a fan? I’m happy to explore one little corner of London, sharing books and ideas with new friends. I’ll leave the more experienced bloggers to travel further afield.

  19. I agree with much of what you said. I particularly find it upsetting when peiople I have come to know and appreciate suddenly disappear, without warning and are never heard of again. But the point I concur with most is how hard it is to find the new blogs that meet one’s own taste among the amazing plethora that is out there.

    • I’m so glad it’s not just me! So many blogs, so surely there’d be even more blogs to appeal, so why is that not so? It’s a great modern paradox – I suppose something akin to the way more channels on the TV seems to mean less of anything to watch. And I am always sad when blogging friends disappear. Perhaps they could rig up CCTV in their houses instead? I think maybe I should not even suggest that!

  20. I’ve been thinking about this post for a couple of days now…just chewing over the things you’ve shared and the comments that have followed. It’s interesting to me, especially because I’m a very new blogger. I’m still in the giddy “I have a blog, I have a blog!” phase😉

  21. The blogging world (and even limiting it to just book blogs) is such an overwhelming place. I once thought I was part of ‘the’ book blogging community, but I discover that I am just one very, very tiny fish (and an absolute amateur one at that) in a vast ocean (a seriously small corner). It’s pretty daunting really that the bloggers I read and follow regularly are so few (and here I thought I knew everyone in the community–or just about) compared to the many, many out there who blog these days. Maybe finding the really exceptional ones for The Best of New Writing would be best done via word of mouth–searching through the blog rolls of the writers you will likely use since they probably read the sorts of blogs that are similar to what they are writing and reading? Not a perfect science for sure, but it’s so hard trying to sift through them all otherwise. Good luck on your venture. I think you are essentially going to do the service for everyone else that would be nice for you to use in finding the best blogs out there–corralling the really good blog offerings.

    • It is a bit daunting these days, isn’t it? It’s comforting to feel able to get around a whole community and have the sensation of knowing a lot of people. The sheer vastness of the book blogging world is so overwhelming. I worry that I’m doing this too late in my blogging life, and that earlier I had a sort of dogged enthusiasm that I now lack! Still, we shall see how it goes, and if I do find good blog posts that I want to post, imagine how cheerful it will make me.🙂 It will certainly feel like quite an achievement.

  22. I have to say that I’ve essentially given up trying to find new blogs to read. I do come across ones I like every now and then, but I don’t seek them out — no energy and no time! I used to seek out readers more, but now I am happy if I can post every now and then. I guess I’ve radically revised downward what I put into and what I expect from blogging, but still, I enjoy it very much on a small scale. I guess I want to keep participating in it, even just in my own tiny way!

    • I am so glad that you do manage to keep blogging from time to time – don’t give up! I really like to hear your news. I think you are very sensible to downsize your expectations. I think I still expect the same sort of kick I used to get out of blogging, while having a great deal less time and focus for it. But I do still enjoy it, and it is still a compulsion, so here I am!🙂

  23. I agree with every word. I’ve been blogging very little since I got deeply into the first draft of a new novel. I’m over half way through the first draft as a result (not to mention kids being off for the summer which takes a big chunk of my time!) I also find my reader clogging up with blogs I subscribe to. Today there were 134 posts and I cleared a lot of them out without reading (but not yours). So I was thinking today what I want to do online? How do I renew my blog? (Something I know you’ve done several times.) What about all the other social networks? I have no answers yet. I’m just asking.

    • Halfway through a new novel is wonderful! And it should definitely take your attention and time. After all, it’s ultimately far more significant than a blog post or two. But isn’t the constant renegotiation of the blogging contract tiring? And difficult. Over the years I have repeatedly changed my focus, because I had to. I think asking the questions, even though there are no easy answers, is all we can really do.

  24. Victoria, I like your London analogy, too. But I would add something to it.

    As I walk around San Francisco (or any city) I often wonder about the people who live and have lived in the houses I pass. I recently read a biography of the band Jefferson Airplane and discovered someone involved with the band lived, and passed away, not too far from where I work. I wished we could have met.

    And yet the blogosphere permits us to learn more about the people who live inside. It’s as if the houses you passed on the street all had pictures and texts posted on their front doors, allowing you to read about the people who live there.

    And you can go inside! Even as they sleep, you can click links and poke around in all the rooms they give visitors access to. (There are times I’ve stumbled upon more than I wanted to know.)

    i think you’ve also hit on the quality we seek–a sense of narrative. I’m also slightly put off by like buttons. Yes, they’re fine, but they’re also easy, a sort of driveby pleasantness.

    You excel at recognizing story and I remain ready to support you. Although my initial offer to you was geared toward backing you however you might need, if that means doing a little gazehound work as well, I’m ready. *smile*

    • I’m grateful for whatever you feel able to provide! And you’re right that blogs are a reaching out and an openness, whatever else they may be. It’s not like we have to fight through the enchanted forest to get to see whether there are treasures in the castle or not! You see, the one thing you will certainly provide and that I need is a boost of optimism!

  25. I, too, have been blogging for six years and look! Just now I’ve found your lovely blog. And imagine! You’ve come to visit me, too, and I don’t even write clever or witty posts any more. I used to, when I had the time, but now I’m busy navigating my own world with a 22 year old son and a full time career and parents who require just a bit more from me which I’m glad to give. I haven’t the time for new blog finding, let alone get to the ones I know and love. There IS too much out there, and there IS a whe where one’s d blogging friends used to be. Hopefully most if us will still hang in there. For a bit longer anyway.

  26. Great post – sorry I’ve taken so long to get round to commenting on it.
    I particularly appreciate point #6. Entropy is just right. I find my energy for posting comes in spurts. And even when I do manage to expel a post it’s often been deleted within a week or so, or is still being craftily edited two months later.
    The process of finding blogs worth reading is also very frustrating. To be honest, I often end up using your blog as a bit of a touchstone – I’ve actually found a couple of interesting things by clicking names in these comments. Thing is, I think the blog (or perhaps more broadly speaking the internet) as a form has got potential beyond the discursive diary-entry type of writing. It’s really hard to see past the wordpress/blogger format though, I’ll admit. It’s also hard to stomach writing posts that you know only ten people will ever see; you know, because you’ve got little snide bar charts to tell you.😉
    Anyway, many congratulations on six years.🙂

  27. I have been blogging for about 8 month and have passed the honeymoon stage. What you all are saying is very clarifying for me, but also very discouraging. What is a new blogger to do if none of you even look for new blogs to read? Am I simply too late?

  28. Encouragement: I have actually visited the website of everyone who has contributed a comment here, as long as I had not known it or had not visited for a while. Several were plopped into my blog reader.

    The other answer is: leave frequent, thoughtful comments on other people’s blogs.

    Not too late!

  29. Amen to the London analogy! And I’m so with you about cynicism, litlove. Having just begun recently (and slowly), almost half of my genuine comments are still what appears to be computer generated nonsense. What a world. Been banging my head against the wall on a piece about that for several months now. It’s become an obsession, trying to make art out of the problem. . . silly ruts.

    and thedervish – pulling stuff off to edit! kindred.

    well, basically loved this post and wanted to say i think there is “potential beyond the discursive diary-entry type of writing” . . .

    What about a blog that is simply and solely a library of a community of your blogs? A catalogue of your networking, kept by someone of discriminating taste who could (sort of like an editor) admit people to the list who applied? I don’t know. It sounds like a Mensa group or something and would take some tending to, but it might draw more excellent bloggers of this sort together… and bring more readers through a massive virtual library? It’s just a different, more sticky element of structure. . .

    ps. thanks for the interesting links – i love a live mind.

Leave a Reply

