Breaks and Books

Just to let you all know I will be taking a brief break from blogging as we have a very busy social period coming up with lots of house guests. I’m also hoping to get around finally to making the changes I promised months ago when I revamped the site. I’ll be uploading some of my academic work here and some non-academic writing, too.

I’ll also be spending some time with the books for the long-heralded but much delayed French Reading Week. The aim is to return with a full week of French-related novels and non-fiction.

While I’m gone, I’ll leave you with a couple of images from an artist we visited during the Open Studios weekends in Cambridge. The artist is illustrator Roxana de Rond, just the loveliest woman who creates such happy, amusing pictures, with a lot featuring the act of reading. You can find her website here.

 

 

Au revoir, mes amis! See you in a week or so!

30 thoughts on “Breaks and Books

    • She doesn’t yet but is hoping to – apparently began with greeting cards and then branched out into other things. I think her style would be perfect for a children’s book – just wish I could write one!

  1. Have fun with your guests! I hope it won’t be too taxing. When you’ll be back from your blog break I’ll be in Wales… but this time I’m taking the computer with me and will love to read your French reviews.

    • We actually had a lovely time with all our guests – ordinary work is much harder!πŸ™‚ Hope you are having a lovely holiday in Wales – reading French lit again has been wonderful.

  2. MUST you have a break?πŸ˜‰ Have a lovely time. I hope your guests are fun and not too tiring, and I look forward to reading lots about French literature when you return.

    • I just love them – they are so cheery! We had a really lovely time with our guests and it was nice as always to have a break from the computer. But now it’s lovely to be back and hear what you’ve been doing while I’ve been away.πŸ™‚

    • We managed to have a very stress-free time in the end, which was lovely! And you can see I am inspired by your European readings to do more of my own.πŸ™‚

  3. Have a good (and hopefully productive) break! And I hope all goes well with the guests. Love the illustrations–is that the bookstore where you work?πŸ™‚

    • Oh my, how I wish! Our bookstore is lovely but a bit (well, quite a lot) scruffier. It was a lovely break but I’m happy to be back now. Will email you soon – we have Chadwick to discuss (I’m still about halfway through as I’ve been reading French novels). Can’t wait to chat!

    • Andrew – we had a struggle with footnotes but my clever husband found a way around it. So we’ve uploaded two pieces, hope to do more and they’ll be on the menu bar soon. It will be great to have more of what I do gathered together here.

Leave a Reply

