Old Photo, New Books

It’s been a busy weekend and I don’t have time to write anything special, alas. But it occurred to me that you hadn’t yet seen my Christmas books, so here they are. I had put this post to one side, feeling the need for a better (ie in focus) photo. But I will supply the list of titles – from the top down:

Raymond Chandler boxed set of recent dramatisations of all the main novels by the BBC, starring Toby Stephens as Phillip Marlowe (he does it really well).

Josephine Tey – To Love and Be Wise

Nora Ephron – I Feel Bad About My Neck

Elizabeth Speller – The Return of Captain John Emmett (highly recommended)

Richard Powers – Generosity

Rohinton Mistry – A Fine Balance

Stella Gibbons – Westwood

Raymond Chandler – The Lady in the Lake and other novels

Ali Smith – Hotel World

Belinda Bauer – Darkside

Antonia Fraser – Frost in May

Truman Capote – Breakfast at Tiffany’s

Angela Carter – The Infernal Desire  Machines of Doctor Hoffmann

Emma Donahugue – Room

Jeanette Winterson – Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal?

Justine Picardie – Coco Chanel: the legend and the life

Delia Smith’s Christmas Cookbook

I was thrilled with all my new books – so many I wanted to start right away! I’ve read and enjoyed the top three books  and listened to several of the Raymond Chandler dramatisations, and now of course I’ve moved into that phase of wanting to prolong the pleasure and not scarf them all down. The Stella Gibbons and the Jeanette Winterson are marked for the next couple of weeks, though.

Hope everyone is having a lovely weekend, and enjoying some quality reading time!

24 thoughts on “Old Photo, New Books

  1. Oh, I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Westwood! It was one of my favourite reads of last year, and I bet your post will offer me a fresh perspective on it.

  2. I was interested in a book by Antonia Fraser that I had never heard of, so I did an Internet search, but all that’s coming up is a book by Antonia White that Fraser does reference on her website? Please help, I’m curious!

    And your books all look delightful.

    • Miriam – gah, that’s because I’m an idiot and the novel is actually by Antonia White, and I transposed it in my head. I will edit that as soon as I have a moment.

  3. I so love seeing your books! How fun! Some of those look so good. I will be interested to hear what you think of Powers. I tried several times to get into The Time of Our Singing, but I finally gave up because it did not captivate me. I read A Lost Lady this weekend, which I loved! You were spot on with that one that I would love it. It’s so cool how you know my reading taste after discussing books with you for a bit now. Next up is Eliot…

    • Ali – I remember you being interested in seeing my stack! I’m also interested to see how I’ll get on with Powers. To be honest, when I dip into it, I can’t say the writing really draws me, but we shall see what happens when I really commit to it. So glad you liked the Cather! Yay! Poor old George Eliot keeps getting sidelined, as now I MUST read the T S Spivet book for the Slaves. Will tell you more about that in the next email.

  4. Some lovely choices. Some I have as well and can’t wait to start.
    “The Infernal Desire Machine of Doctor Hoffmann” is one of my two favourite Angela Carter novels so far.
    I have read a few articles on Winterson’s memoir and think I would love to read it. The title is fantastic.

    • Caroline, I am delighted to hear that this is a favourite Angela Carter of yours – good news indeed. And I’m so looking forward to the Winterson. I’m pretty sure it would interest you, too.

    • Sarah – that sounds fascinating! I will definitely drop by and have a look. Do bear with me – term has just begun again and I find I am behind in all my internet reading and writing. But I WILL visit!

      • No worries – I have no idea how you keep up with so much reading and writing anyway, am in awe! I have started putting books that you and others recommend on an Amazon wish list so I don’t forget about them later. However, the wish list has to come behind the very real pile (aka tripping hazard) of books beside the bed. My current book is great (The memory of love by Aminatta Forna) but it’s taken me a few weeks to read. Hope all’s well – and bit belated but Happy New Year!

  5. It seems like a lot of people are in agreement about The Return of Captain John Emmett. I keep thinking I have it, but the cover is the same colour as The Street Philosopher. I’m never sure about Hotel World – Ali Smith, but short stories…Hope it’s great🙂

    • Ha, yes, that tendency for covers to look the same is most offputting. I didn’t cotton onto that book for ages because the cover was so generic. In fact, it is a beautifully written novel and I think you might like it. I’ll let you know about the Ali Smith – I’m sure to read that one before too long.

  6. I hate that Nora Ephron has already taken the title of my future memoirs (but I have been meaning to read it anyway). And you can’t go wrong with Raymond Chandler (or Toby Stephens, for that matter.)

    • That dratted Nora Ephron! How could she do such a thing? You’d love it, though, Grad, I’m sure you would. She has such a sassy voice. Toby Stephens, too, for that matter.😉

  7. Lovely pile of books! I tried to read the Emma Donoghue book and then tried to listen to the audio (which for me was a worse experience). I’m curious to hear your take on it. I have heard many good things about it, so maybe my timing was off (and best to try reading again than listening). If you like it, I’ll make a point of giving it a better chance!🙂

Leave a Reply

