Mr Litlove’s Lists

I am still a bit discombobulated from all the email hassle; so today, a few summaries from the excellent brainstorming session about books for Mr. Litlove. Many of the suggestions made were spot on, in that he had read them and enjoyed them a lot already. I’ve compiled a list of those, as there seem to be quite a few Mr Litloves out there, who might benefit from it. Then there’s a list of the books he’s going to be reading, and another brief list of ones he’d like to read that I will have to get for him from somewhere (so, ahem, yes, the first list is all of books that are already in the house or headed towards it). I confess I made a few purchases as your suggestions were coming in – House by Tracy Kidder, The Mind’s Eye by Oliver Sacks, The Given Day by Denis Lehane and Brian Greene, The Elegant Universe. I’m also ordering the first in the Baroque Cycle by Neal Stephenson because he loved Cryptonomicon.

 

Books Mr Litlove has read and enjoyed:

Richard Russo – Straight Man, That Old Cape Magic

Donna Tartt – The Secret History

Neal Stephenson – Cryptonomicon

Philip Roth – The Plot Against America

Lionel Shriver – We Need To Talk About Kevin

Richard Feynman – Surely You’re Joking Mr Feynman?

Nick Hornsby – Fever Pitch, High Fidelity (and some others, I think)

Jonathon Coe – The Rotter’s Club, The Closed Circle

Kazuo Ishiguro – The Remains of the Day

Graham Swift – Last Orders

Kingsley Amis – Lucky Jim

William Maxwell – The Chateau

Evelyn Waugh – Scoop

Peter Carey – Oscar and Lucinda

 

Books we already own that Mr Litlove will be reading:

House – Tracy Kidder (currently reading and loving it)

The Mind’s Eye – Oliver Sacks

In Cold Blood – Truman Capote

Bernhard Schlink – The Reader

Somerset Maugham – The Razor’s Edge

Wallace Stegner – Angle of Repose, Crossing to Safety (he’s got quite a soft heart!)

Stieg Larsson – has seen first movie, so may read second book

The City and the City – China Miéville

Peter Carey – My Life as a Fake

Julian Barnes – Arthur and George

E. M. Forster – A Room with a View

Michael Cunningham – The Hours

Denis Lehane – The Given Day

Brian Greene – The Elegant Universe

Neal Stephenson – Quicksilver

Summertime – J.M. Coetzee

John le Carré – Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy

Jonathan Coe – The Terrible Privacy of Maxwell Sims

Guiseppe di Lampedusa – The Leopard

 

Other authors he is interested in (whose books I’d track down)

Rohinton Mistry – A Fine Balance

Tim O’Brien – The Things They Carried

Leonardo Sciascia – not sure which title yet

Kurt Vonnegut – ditto

Harry Mathews – My Life in the CIA

Temple Grandin – Thinking in Pictures

Zoran Zirkovic – Hidden Camera

Ayn Rand – Atlas Shrugged

So that should take us to the end of 2012, I’d say! Thank you all so much for your wonderful contributions – it was a lot of fun compiling these lists. And I’ll let you know from time to time how he’s getting on with the books.

16 thoughts on “Mr Litlove’s Lists

  1. Hmmm… I share some similar interests in books as Mr. Litlove. I loved the Russo books he has read as well as The Secret History. I read We Need to Talk About Kevin earlier this year, and I thought it was written very well–but very, very hard to read in terms of its subject matter. I know you are done taking suggestions, but he might enjoy her most recent book, So Much for That, which is an indictment on the health care system of the US. The book is very good despite an unplausible ending. Happy reading for Mr. Litlove!

  2. What a great list! I loved Crossing to Safety and A Room with a View is one of my favorites. I also am interested in reading something by Leonardo Sciascia, so I will be curious to see which book he chooses. I have a story collection by him out from the library at the moment–A Wine-Dark Sea that I haven’t been able to start yet, but short stories are sometimes good places to start with new to me authors. And a coworker has read Temple Grandin’s books and recommended them highly to me. I’d say he is in for many happy hours of reading!

  3. I was looking for John le Carré’s books and glad to see Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy on the list because I’m very curious to know what Mr. Litlove thinks of this specific title, being in the land where the author is a sensation for decades, and with the acclaimed movie adaptation coming up in general release later this year. I’d love to hear what Mr. and Mrs. Litlove think of it.😉

  4. Yay Forster, Mieville and Stephenson make the list. Quicksilver is bonkers and you have to pay attention (except propbably Mr Litlove has a better grasp of things like the economy than me), but so satisfying!

  5. Nice list. Hope Mr. Litlove likes Elegant Universe. Greene will be making a library appearance here early next year but it is part of a library fundraisers and it costs $60 per ticket. I’d rather spend the money on buying his books.

  6. Good choices for the future and good taste he has, that Mister Litlove! (Mostly.) Will you keep us posted about what he likes and doesn’t like so that when we suggest books for him again (I didn’t do it this time but I will another time!), we can improve upon our accuracy?

  7. Ali – we are never truly done taking suggestions! Thank you very much for that one – I’ve seen the Shriver novel about but not had a recommendation to guide me towards it. We Need To Talk About Kevin is harrowing, I agree, but a good book and a significant one. I think I heard that Shriver was writing it while considering whether to have children or not – what a thought!

    Lilian – oh thank you. Wish I could do one for my son – maybe one day!

    Bluestocking – nice to have you visit and Mr L loves the cheerleading!

    Ms Thrifty – it is being very well received here, so I think it’s a good choice. I promise not to breathe a word!

    Danielle – I will confess to you that several of the books on this list I’m going to read, too. There’s so much good stuff on it, and it will be fun to compare our opinions (although I bet we get out of synch and can’t actually recall the details by the time the other gets around to picking the book up!). But I will definitely report back here on how it is all going.

    Arti – Mr Litlove is the cinema buff of the two of us, so I am sure he will applaud the idea of seeing the film too so he can compare! Definitely one to write up, in any case, when he’s read it.

    Caroline – that’s a good thing because he’s not a pattern-driven reader. Once he’s read one sort of book he wants something completely different next. That’s partly what makes him hard to buy for! But it also means I think we’ve got the right list.🙂

    Nymeth – Mr Litlove was very persuadable so it is definitely worth asking – and do tell us if he is keen!

    Jackie – I confess I really want to read A Fine Balance too – it looks great! And the Temple Grandin should be really interesting. Will be very keen to know what you think of it too.

    Jodie – lol! Mr L is good on the economy, he likes that sort of thing, but a bit of bonkers supplement never goes amiss either! (I want to read the Mieville too).

    Courtney – I faithfully promise to report back on how he gets along with his books. The Given Day looks fantastic. I’ll be hanging over him waiting for him to finish it!

    Stefanie – lol! I would make exactly the same decision myself! Brian Greene looked excellent for him, and I’m very intrigued to see what it’s like when it arrives (any day soon). I don’t have the science background for it, but I know he’ll explain stuff to me, and you never know, I might dangle it successfully below my son’s nose too. Ever hopeful!

    Jenny – I certainly will, as I love hearing back about recommendations I’ve made and don’t mind (too much) if people haven’t got on with the books as it does make for better accuracy in the long run!

    Andrew – I would love him to do a guest post – but my guess is he will tell me what he thinks and I will continue in my role of family scribe. He may well reply to comments on a post like that, though!

  8. Pingback: The King of the Vagabonds, Neal Stephenson (HarpurCollins, 2003 {Brilliance Audio, 2010; Narrator: Simon Prebble (with Forward by Neal Stephenson)}) | The Archaeologist's Guide to the Galaxy.. by Thomas Evans

Leave a Reply

